Posted February 26, 2018
A DUI charge in Colorado can be more serious than you might think. If you have been charged with a DUI, the first thing you should do is get an attorney. Why? Because they know the DUI laws probably much better than you do. Having a DUI conviction is not something you want attached to your record or your name.
See how much you know. Do you know there are different grades of alcohol consumption? Minors under the legal age to drink will be charged with DUI if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level from .02 to .05 percent. Adults with .08 to .17 percent will be charged with DUI. Anyone with a BAC over .17 percent procure extra severe penalties.
Do you know your rights when it comes to a DUI charge? For instance, do you have to allow blood alcohol level testing? When you got your driver’s license, you actually consented to allow this testing. Therefore, you do not have a right to refuse a BAC test.
Did you know you can be penalized by both the Department of Motor Vehicles and the legal system? The DMV will automatically revoke your driver’s license if you are arrested on a DUI charge. If you are convicted, they will impose additional fines, along with a term of suspension of your license.
Then the Colorado legal system will also impose fines and jail terms. A first-time conviction may result in fines up to $1,000 and jail time anywhere from five days to one year. Imagine what you might get for a second or third conviction.
Seek an attorney as soon as possible. Besides just the fines and penalties of a conviction, your record will be smudged and your job may even be affected if you cannot drive. Your attorney may be able to get the charges dropped or lowered if he or she can find a hole in the case. A DUI is something you don’t want to handle on your own.